The Seven Deadly Sins Book Tag

I saw this fun post on http://questreviews.blogspot.ca/ and although I wasn’t tagged by name, I decided to give this a whirl! The original tag is by BookishlyMalyza on YouTube.

GREED What is your most inexpensive book? What is your most expensive book?

Most of my books are pretty inexpensive since I buy them from my library’s book sales (some of them are less than $1). I remember being overjoyed when I found Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows at a thrift store in near perfect condition and I snagged it for less than $5! Any of my school books would be my most expensive book.

WRATH What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

Rick Riordan. Definitely. He really puts his readers through the wringer with his books. I’ve never yelled, laughed, cried at a book so much as I did for Mark of Athena and House of Hades. ‘Nuff said.

GLUTTONY What book have you devoured over and over with no shame?

I’ve read the Harry Potter series countless times. It still amazes me to this day how seamless J.K. Rowling’s weaving of her plot is. Every single component in her books has a purpose to the bigger story. Every action her characters make have a deeper meaning behind it. No matter how many times I read it, I find myself inevitably drawn into the story: the wonder that surges in me when Harry arrives at Hogwarts for the first time; the fear I feel when Harry faces Voldemort time after time; the sadness that resonates through me when Harry sees his parents in the Mirror of Erised; the grief I feel when Harry’s friends die (“Dobby is…free”); and the sense of growth that I experience when I read that Harry accepts the prospect of death.
Thank you J.K. Rowling for never giving up on Harry.
SLOTH What book have you neglected reading due to laziness?
Um. Leviathan by Thomas Hobbes. It was long. The pages were wafer-thin. The words were insanely tiny. I couldn’t do it. Worse yet, it was for school, so I probably should have finished it. Let the barrage of admonishments come at me.
PRIDE What book do you talk about most in order to sound like an intellectual reader?
Talking about Hobbes is a real conversation-stopper. It doesn’t matter that I never finished it. All I have to do is say “Hey guys, I read this fantastic book by this guy named Hobbes. He’s the one who said that ‘life of man is nasty, brutish and short’…wait, where are you going?”
LUST What attributes do you find attractive in male or female characters?
I like it when male characters have a sense of humour. It’s off-putting when guys have to have noble stupidity, meaning that they’re doing something absolutely horrible for the sake of protecting their loved ones (-cough- practically 90% of male characters). THERE ARE ALTERNATIVES.
ENVY What book would you most like to receive as a gift?
I’d love to get the entire series of all of my favourite books. Right now, I have one or two books from each of my favourite series and although I’ve read the whole series, it would make me so happy to have all of the books on my shelves.
2 thoughts on “The Seven Deadly Sins Book Tag

  1. Hey! Loved reading this. I laughed at the mention of “wafer-thin” pages. There are so many books that I’ve been put off of because of their intimidating design. And next time I do a book tag, I’ll tag you by name!

    Like

Leave a Reply

