Book Haul

I have books!

And they BELONG TO ME. I don’t have to return them! I have them all lined up on my bookshelf and I gaze adoringly at them every night. Doesn’t everyone do that?

My library had a huge booksale for three days from Thursday to Saturday so after classes, I hopped on the bus and went straight to the library. You should have seen me at the sale: I was trying to not act excited around this plethora of books but I couldn’t stop my face from smiling this ridiculous grin. Within the first fifteen minutes, I had five books in my arms . After ten, I thought that I should maybe, you know, stop and take inventory and pay for these books.

I went home with sixteen books.

And I have absolutely no regrets. Especially when I bought them for less than a dollar each.

Except I had to carry the books for a  half-hour trip home. My shoulders were crying the next day.

049

I had only one goal in my mind when I entered the book sale: find some Rick Riordan books. I only owned two books of the Percy Jackson series and only one in The Heroes of Olympus series. I was exhilarated to find The Mark of Athena and an hour later The Son of Neptune in some boxes. Bonus: I found the complete series of The Kane Chronicles–The Red Pyramid, The Throne of Fire, and The Serpent’s Shadow which I haven’t read yet.

I picked up Uglies, Pretties, and Extras by Scott Westerfeld. They were in amazingly good condition and since I read and loved Uglies, I decided to buy the other two books as well.

When I first read The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrey Niffenegger), I just about cried at the ending. How could I say no to purchasing this book?

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson was one of the first few reads that introduced me to contemporary novels. The writing was raw and beautifully painful.

I have never read Matched by Ally Condie, however I read a lot of bloggers saying they really liked the first book and the blurb was intriguing.

Lord of the Flies (William Golding) and To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee) were some of my favourite books I had to read for high school.

I read The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke when I was in elementary school and I loved it. The concept of “returning a book” never occurred to me back then…

I did read The Mortal Instruments. I liked it for the most part but I found it dragged on for the last couple of books. So many people have been raving about The Infernal Devices that I decided to buy Clockwork Angel (Cassandra Clare). Peer pressure at its finest.

I have never read nor watched the Brad Pitt film. I’m sad to say that I spoiled myself by reading the synopsis online before beginning The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by Scott Fitzgerald.  Maybe I’ll put it off for a few months and HOPEFULLY, I’ll have a temporary memory lapse and I can fully enjoy the short story.


As this is from a library book sale, some of the books aren’t in great condition. Some of the pages are wrinkled or the edges of the spine are crushed or even worse, some of the pages have questionable stains. But I can forget about all of those details because I only care about the stories inside of them.

4 thoughts on “Book Haul

  1. Oh my goodness look at all those Riordan books! They’re absolutely gorgeous. I really wish my library would have a book sale <.<

    Like

Leave a Reply

