A Guilt-Ridden Monthly Update

Oh…the guilt.

I haven’t posted anything in the last month and I apologize for that! It’s-it’s not like I haven’t been reading (okay, reading less but I’m still opening a book and getting through my TBR pile!) but I don’t have the time to do much BUT read.

It has mostly been school readings and the occasional YA novel. The reason why there’s been no blog post is that I usually don’t do an actual book review in the traditional sense. I like doing discussion-y reviews. And it takes me a disturbingly long time to do those types of reviews. I finish a book in a few days. Then I put it down for maybe a day or two, just so I can get a less biased gauge of said book since as soon as I finish reading a book, I can go two ways: if I loved it, I’d gush and rant and flail about. If I hated it, it’d be at the bottom of a cliff. It’s not an excuse, I know. And I’ll try my best to get something up in the next couple of weeks.

This month has been torturous on me. Essays, upon essays, upon writing assignments, and readings, and stress. Right about now, my stress levels have skyrocketed into my dreams. Lately, I’ve been having dreams about forgetting to hand in an assignment or forgetting to do an assignment. I would bolt straight up in my bed, run over to my computer and boot it up, only to have my eyes lock onto the clock and realize it’s only 4 a.m.

November is hell month. I was foolish enough to think that I would be able to participate in NaNoWriMo this year but that obviously didn’t happen.

My mood has been in the dumps as well. There’s constructive criticism and then there’s tactlessness. There’s sensitive and then there’s me. It’s such a blow to your confidence when you have a friend tell you that they (1) hate your writing piece and/or (2) tell you that there’s too much predictability in your writing ideas.

It hurts a lot.  I had to avoid my social media for a few days. It was also partially the reason why I wasn’t able to do NaNo.

Bear with me, please. School’s ending pretty soon which means a couple of things: (1) I’LL BE FREE! FREEDOM! (2) A last-minute scramble to finish everything (3) I forgot that there were still exams to consider.

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Guilt-Ridden Monthly Update

  1. THIS WAS MY LIFE IN OCTOBER. I just sat my exams and read. That’s all. It was actually comforting. YOU’LL BE AMAZING THOUGH!

    And I agree. There is a big difference between tactlessness and constructive criticism. It’s such a shame that some people don’t realise that. But chin up, my dear! Use this to push yourself ❤

    Like

  2. I’ve been hearing from numerous people that November has been hectic for them, and I was in the same boat with crap loads of assignments and essays due. I think we should just officially label November as Hell Month, yes?

    Like

Leave a Reply

