Bookish/Inkish/Everythingish Resolutions for 2015

It’s that time of the year again where I come up with New Year’s Resolutions and promptly break them. I’m determined to break the cycle this time. How do we achieve our goals? We start by coming up with reasonable wishes. I’ve always wanted to do a marathon of reading 365 books but it’s kind of impossible given how much of a procrastinator I am.

1. COMPETE IN NANOWRIMO

I’ve never written a complete novel before. It’s an incredibly daunting experience since all I’ve written are short stories. Well, actually, I did write a 60-page story when I was in elementary school…but let’s not talk about that. It’s embarrassingly bad. I’m going to aim to do some trial runs first before November just so I can warm-up my writing brain, because wow, writing 50,000 words is something my mind can’t wrap around. And to do it in a month!

2. WRITE MORE

Neglect. Regret. That’s been running around in my brain this year. I’ve been neglecting my creative writing. Thus, the regret I’m feeling is strong. My tentative goal is to write a lot of short stories. Perhaps…perhaps every week? This is a shaky proposition since this goal depends on my brain and my brain has been failing me of late.

3. IMPROVE IN CHARACTERIZATION AND STORY-TELLING

I want to enhance my writing skills in character development (such as emotional development and a distinct human quality) and plot development. Quality and quantity of story-writing!

3. EXERCISE MORE/EAT HEALTHIER

Yeurgh. It’s hard. Can’t I just sit on my butt, read a book, eat and not gain weight? Why can’t life work that way?

4. READ MORE/BLOG MORE

I do have a Goodreads account but I rarely use it. When I read a book, I like to write my thoughts and discuss it, therefore I blog what I read. As you can see, the blog has scant posts. I’m going to aim to read 30 books in 2015. Cross my fingers.

5. VISIT MORE BOOK BLOGS

This bookblogging community is amazing. Since entering university, I read less. I wrote less. When I had free time, I would much rather spend it sleeping, eating or sitting in front of the computer with a cat video on. But I discovered this hidden world where people discussed books, freaked out about endings, or bemoaned about having to wait years, years, for the next release in the series. Everyone is so very kind and passionate about the written world, I feel blessed to be part of the community.

 

I hope everyone had a wonderful 2014!

2 thoughts on “Bookish/Inkish/Everythingish Resolutions for 2015

  1. WOAH A 60 PAGED STORY?! THAT IS PRETTY DAMN AWESOME. :O I would never be able to do that LOL. Oh yes I need to be healthier this year. MUST. EAT. ALL. THE. VEGGIES.

    I hope you have a lovely 2015 and achieve all your goals, girl! <33

    Like

    1. I’ve tried re-reading my story and I don’t know whether to cry or laugh at the writing. It was like I never heard of the words PROOFREAD or EDIT before.

      I hope you have a great 2015 as well Mel!

      Like

Leave a Reply

