Review: The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

What happens to a person who is drowning?

Are they really drowning? Are they alone? Are they surrounded? When they look around, do they see other survivors? Is there an end or a beginning to the sea? Does the sea stretch to infinity or simply nothing?

the infinite sea


I didn’t love this book like I did for The 5th Wave. While it was still abundant in action and suspense, The Infinite Sea felt much calmer. I think it’s because this is more of a mind game, a game of chess if you will, than in the first book. Weighing the risks. Strategy. The plot and the big questions about humanity were written well but I think the problem for me is the writing of the romance and development of it.

Oh, Cassie. She had been one of my favourite characters from The 5th Wave but I just didn’t like her as much here. It was the constant “gah” moments that really irked me. Yes, Cassie, Evan has melt-worthy eyes, can we just please get back to the story? She was less focused on survival and more on Evan and his uncertain return from the dead. And that took me out of the alien story and flung me into a high-school romance story which I didn’t enjoy. There is nothing WRONG with romance, I’m not saying that but this infatuation with Evan has escalated to the point where it’s as if she has completely forgotten about the aliens threatening to kill her. It’s inconsistent with the Cassie in the beginning of The 5th Wave.

Cassie and Evan’s story came out of nowhere and erupted from chocolate eyes. I wasn’t a huge fan of Ringer and Razor’s ‘romance’ but I think that is in due part because it didn’t FEEL like a romance to me. The Chaseball game was a good build-up but the sudden explosion of love and kissing was strange. A complete what just happened moment for me. Their relationship wasn’t explored as much which was disappointing.

It was nice to learn more about the other characters. We learn the reason for Poundcake’s silence and it was gut-wrenching. His past parallels with that of Ringer’s: childhood experiences shape people to be who they will be. The argument of nature vs. nurture.

Ringer was pretty darn bad-ass here. I liked how she was just so straight-forward in her actions and her thoughts. By adding a POV for Ringer, she emerges as a much more complicated and complex character. She’s careful about every move that she makes, aware that it all comes down to the endgame: the checkmate. The Infinite Sea is about Ringer’s core personality: her loneliness and the emptiness she feels. Despite appearing to be confident, aloof and independent, there’s this terrible sensation that she isn’t so much drowning in a sea but drowning in herself.

The twists throughout the story were pulled off smoothly especially the revelation at the end between Ringer and Vosch which had my jaw drop. Of course, it had me questioning EVERYTHING that I read in the first book and in this book but that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

  1. I didn’t like this one either. I felt like I wasn’t even reading the same story. And that big reveal at the end. Um, I thought that was common knowledge or something but apparently not. And the big change in POV, moving to Ringer and whatnot. I could care less ,tbh. Purely because I couldn’t even place her in the first book (but that’s more my fault and my horrendous memory haha). I wasn’t too attached to Cassie in the first place and her in this book didn’t sell it too me either. Perhaps I just thought The 5th Wave was going elsewhere, you know? Wonderful review, Hilary! x

    Like

    1. Hmm, it really did feel like two different stories now that you’ve brought it up but I’m guessing it’s owing to the fact that it’s in a different setting with a different set of POVs? I’m not sure. But thanks for coming by!

      Like

  2. Ugh yeah I wasn’t a fan of Cassie AT ALL. For me, Ringer totally stole the show. I didn’t like this book as much as the first one, but I still found it to be enjoyable.

    Lovely review, Hilary! <33

    Like

Leave a Reply

