Top 5 Series That I Need to Finish/Catch Up

Since starting this blog a few months ago, I’ve been a little bit more adventurous in my series-reading (seriously, all I’ve been reading before was Harry Potter, Percy Jackson and school books). But I’ve finally ventured into some new series and the first book intrigued me but I’ve neglected to read on. Not for not wanting to, but because there are too many amazing books out there that I’ve literally forgotten to actually continue on with a series.

1. Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

Okay, this isn’t new but I LOVE THIS SERIES. Like honestly. Percabeth is everything to me. But for some reason, I have not finished the series, namely the last book. Why? Because I thought, for some reason, that the author said that he would include all 7 POVs (I’m not blaming Rick Riordan or anything) and that got me so excited and when I bought the book, I literally flipped through all of the chapters, in search of Percy’s name. NOTHING. I was so heartbroken that I couldn’t stand to crack open the spine. It’s sitting lovely on my shelf. But I’ve resolved to finish this book, THIS YEAR. NO MATTER WHAT.

2. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I read Cinder last year and it was enjoyable. It had moments of predictability but I can overlook that because I liked the titular character. Since Fairest is out (and a lot of people loved it), I probably should read Scarlet and Cress then Fairest in time for Winter.

3. The Raven Boys cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

Two words: Raven Boys. Must continue. Must read. And ever since I finished the first book, I’m not kidding, my mind has been revolving around those four boys.

4. The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

Because I hear the assassin finally makes an appearance and I like to give second chances to books. And I hear SJM’s writing gets stronger and stronger with every book so yay for that.

5. The Anna/Lola/Isla Companion Series by Stephanie Perkins

I read a little bit of Lola but I put it down last year because I skipped Anna. And although they aren’t related in terms of storylines, I’m a bit OCD in that I need to read stuff in order.

 

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Series That I Need to Finish/Catch Up

  1. Okay, I have to take a moment to scream YES YES READ THE RAVEN BOYS SERIES BECAUSE AFJDAKLFDS I HAVE SO MANY FEELS FOR THAT SERIES. It’s one of the only series I’ve started where I literally feel like rereading EVERY MONTH. *ahem* I have not reread any of them yet, but I’m going to buy them. *nods* I also adore Throne of Glass and the lunar Chronicles so I absolutely recommend them. Yes, Cinder was a bit predictable wasn’t it?? I was too in love with the writing to mind much, though. xD

    Like

  2. YES TO EVERY SERIES ON THIS LIST. I’ve actually only ever read Anna (which I LOVED FYI) but I keep meaning to read Lola and Isla since everyone loves them too. The Lunar Chronicles are pretty epic so I hope you have a fun time with those. Also, THRONE OF GLASS. Okay ToG is actually one of my favourite series. I get completely emotionally invested in all the books so I hold that series close to my heart.

    Like

  3. THRONE OF GLASS IS MY LIFEBLOOD. I admit, my favorite part of Crown of Midnight was the BADASS assassin stuff. I can also second that opinion that her writing gets stronger. I live for that series.

    I’ve been meaning to pick up Stephanie Perkins’ books, but I’ve been hesitant. I think it might be the first title. Who knows how my brain chooses books.

    Like

    1. OH MY GOSH MADDY, ME TOO! That title for Anna though…I just instantly felt turned off by it. But I’m going to not let a title stop me.

      I have Crown of Midnight! Crossing my fingers for some badassery.

      Like

  4. I’ve all three of the Lunar Chronicles and while it’s not my favourite, I do enjoy them. Everyone’s raving on about Fairest though. I was going to put it off BUT NOW I MIGHT JUST HAVE TO READ IT! RAVEN BOYS OMG PLS CONTINUE ASAP

    Like

Leave a Reply

