Top Ten Tuesday: Yes to Diversity!

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where we can all share lists.

Top Ten Tuesday


YAY FOR DIVERSITY. These books make a point in having diverse characters (racial, LGBTQ, minority, mental illness amongst many, many others) and celebrating them. I want to hug ’em all.

1. The Lunar Chronicles-Marissa Meyer

The characters are Asian! French! African-American! And did I mention cyborg?

cinder

2. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe-Benjamin Alire Saenz

LGBTQ characters and an adorable romance with awesome parents with some coming-of-age angst thrown in.

ari and dante

3. The Mortal Instruments series-Cassandra Clare

I may have fallen out of love with this series but I can’t deny that this is chock-full of diverse characters from LGBTQ to minority groups.

city of bones

4. Made You Up-Francesca Zappia

Sadly, I haven’t read this yet but this is about a schizophrenic girl which I think is a welcome change to typical YA contemporary.

made you up

5. Harry Potter seriesJ.K. Rowling

Minority groups of elves and goblins and Muggle-borns, racial diversity and J.K. Rowling revealed that Dumbledore was gay.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

6. House Rules-Jodi Picoult

I’ve never heard of Asperger’s until I read this book and I thought this book was realistic in recounting the struggles and delights of having a child with autism.

house rules

7. Eleanor and Park-Rainbow Rowell

An extremely cute love story between a redhead and a half-Korean boy who bond over music and comics.

eleanor and park

8. I’ll Give You the Sun-Jandy Nelson

I think I’ve mentioned way too often that I love this book. LGBTQ themes and coming-of-age.

I'll Give You the Sun

9. Extraordinary Means-Robyn Schneider

Having just finished this, I can’t not include it. The main character’s friends are wonderfully diverse: Charlie is gay, Marina is African-American, Nick is Indian.

extraordinary means

10. Lies We Tell Ourselves-Robin Talley

I haven’t read this yet but it’s about a black girl in an all-white girl school who is bullied and finds love.

lies we tell ourselves


What books have you read or want to read that have a plethora of diversity in it? Let me know!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Yes to Diversity!

  1. Yaaay I’ve read 9 of these!! I only haven’t read Made You Up but I REALLY REALLY WANT TO. (I read Challenger deep which is about schizophrenia and it was soooo good but hard to read.) And House Rules is amazing. A little frustrating because it’s super long but I LOVED it and I loved how complex the plot was too. XD

    Like

    1. Jodi Picoult’s books are always really long XD. But they make me cry (I’m glaring at My Sister’s Keeper with tear-filled eyes) and they make me THINK.

      Like

Leave a Reply

