Top Ten Tuesday: League of Book Nerds

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where we can all share lists.

Top Ten Tuesday

Let’s talk about how we can totally see ourselves in some of these books because even though we don’t have magical powers, or wield awesome weapons, these characters love books just as much as we do!


1. Harry Potter series-J.K. Rowling

The should’ve-been-in-Ravenclaw Hermione Granger. My should’ve-been-BFF. She reads everything she gets her hands on. And it’d go against everything I know if I were to not put her on this list.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Philosopher's_Stone_Book_Cover

i checked this out
*eye roll* Duh.

2. The Book Thief-Marcus Zusak

The title says it all. I still haven’t read it but I admire Liesel’s courage and determination to stand up for her love of books and words.

the book theif

3. Eleanor and Park-Rainbow Rowell

It’s so cute. I love how Eleanor and Park bonded over their shared love of music and comic books. There was this lovable moment when they SHARED READING COMICS and it’s adorkable.

eleanor and park

4. Northanger Abbey-Jane Austin

I read this book for school (twice) and Catherine Morland has one heck of an imagination thanks to her obsession with a gothic fiction.

northanger abbey

5. Fangirl-Rainbow Rowell

Cath is a ball of awkwardness and anxiety but this girl’s love for Simon in her favourite series is something I connected with.

fangirl

6. Throne of Glass series-Sarah J. Maas

Despite being an assassin, Celaena is still a reader and I love how SJM incorporated that into her character. It’s not all blood and gore and kill, kill, KILL with Celaena. She will read anything and everything and she reminds me a lot of Hermione in that way. Plus being a strong female.

Throne_of_Glass_UK

7. Matilda-Roald Dahl

Can you believe that I never read the book? The movie is one of my favourites and I loved the scene where tiny Matilda is led through the labyrinth-like library by the librarian and it’s amazing.

matilda

8. Inkheart-Cornelia Funke

Bookception, you guys. The book that Meggie and her father reads from is called Inkheart. This gives a whole different meaning to “bringing a story to life”.

inkheart

9. The Perks of Being a Wallflower-Stephen Chbosky

Charlie reads a lot, albeit because his teacher told him so, but he likes reading and he ends up wanting to write some day.

perks of being a wallflower

10. To Kill a Mockingbird-Harper Lee

Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.

to kill a mockingbird

Scout…you are wise beyond your years.


 

Adding TKAM here reminded me how much I need to reread if I want to read Go Set a Watchman. Has anybody read it yet? What did you think? And which bookish nerds made it on your list?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: League of Book Nerds

  1. Hermione would be first on my list as well. TKAM is my favorite novel of all time, and yet I did not remember that line–guess it is time for me to read it again! 🙂 Haven’t read the new one, but have heard mixed reviews, so am not sure I will.

    Like

  2. Makes me happy to see Celaena on many of today’s lists. I’ve been wanting to read the Throne of Glass books for a while now and know its heroine is a reader/loves books, makes them all the more interesting.

    Thanks so much for visiting Dreaming Under the Same Moon. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

