Top Ten Tuesday: Retalings

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish where we can all share lists.

Top Ten Tuesday

Geddit? ‘Cause I’m all about the puns. I should rename this blog as bookpunsblog.


 

1. The Wrath and the DawnRenee Ahdieh

I’m reading this and I love the characters. And the setting. And the story. And the fact that it’s a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights.

the wrath and the dawn

2. A Court of Thorns and RosesSarah J. Maas

As of this moment, I am desperately trying to finish this in 3 days (which doesn’t seem impossible but I’m working crazy hours this week). I’m wary of this because although readers liked this Beauty and the Beast retelling, they had problems with the love story.

a court of thorns and roses

3. A Throne of GlassSarah J. Maas

I didn’t know this before but this started out as a Cinderella retelling. I think my brain just exploded from that tidbit.

Throne_of_Glass_UK

4. Cruel Beauty-Rosamund Hodge

Another Beauty and the Beast retelling and I enjoyed this. I can’t say that I loved it because I never connected to the characters but it was a creative spin on the fairytale.

cruel beauty

5. Cinder-Marissa Meyer

A cyborg Cinderella. A. cyborg. Cyborg. I need to catch up before the last book comes out!

cinder

TBR Retalings:

6. Splintered-A.G. Howard

I’ve read rave reviews. And tears about a certain character named Morpheus. BRING IT ON. I have my box of tissues ready.

splintered

7. The Sword of Summer-Rick Riordan

Maybe this isn’t considered a retelling of a fairytale, per se. But this has some unique twists on Norse mythology.

the sword of summer

8. Alice in Zombieland-Gena Showalter

What do you get when you combine Alice with zombies? I assume a lot of gore and brain-sucking? Yes, please?

alice in zombieland

9. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids-Sarah Ockler

Pretty much feels like every retelling is fantasy or sci-fi so A Little Mermaid contemporary retelling sounds fantastic.

the summer of chasing mermaids

10. Of Metal and Wishes-Sarah Fine

A RETELLING OF PHANTOM OF THE OPERA? How cool is that?!

of metal and wishes


I do apologize for the lack of posts lately. It’s exam season and I’m half on the verge of tears and half crazy. After this week, I’ll have some reviews up soon.

What are your favourite retalings (it’ll be popular, you’ll see)? What other fairytales do you want to be retold? Thank you for reading this week’s TTT!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Retalings

  1. The Lunar Chronicles is my favorite series at the moment, hand in hand with Raven Cycle. Winter is easily my most awaited release for 2015, despite how many books I’ve been waiting for. Alice in Zombieland made my list because it is very enjoyable and unique but the retelling part of it is a bit… lackluster. Hope you’ll enjoy it, though! The zombie part of it is done in a way that I haven’t seen before and loved it a lot, which makes me question why haven’t I continued the series yet. I absolutely can’t wait to read The Summer of Chasing Mermaids and Of Metal and Wishes.
    Lovely list!
    My TTT

    Like

  2. Good luck with exams! πŸ˜€ EAT MUCH CHOCOLATE. oh oh I like your list. So you haven’t read Splintered yet?! DUDE. GET ONTO THAT. Morpheus is amazing and wonderful and totally tricky and *happy sigh* heartbreaking. And I adore retellings that aren’t IN YOUR FACE you know?! Like I adore the ones that I go into knowing 100% what retelling it is (like Cinder) buuuut there is a special place in my heart reserved for the ones that make you go “OMG IS THIS A RETELLING?!” like Throne of Glass. :’)

    Like

Leave a Reply

