Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

Lara Jean never thought that she would like a boy like Peter Kavinsky. But through a missing hatbox containing her heartfelt confessions to boys she had loved before, a contract and a hot tub video, Lara Jean has fallen for him.

However, when one of her letters return in the form of a boy, how will Lara Jean deal with this?

P.S. I Still Love You


I loved Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. Sure, it didn’t blow my mind or make me question the meaning of life but it was sweet and it was a very pleasant read.

The sequel is very similar in that respect where it basically made my feels explode.

P.S. I Still Love You introduces a past love of Lara Jean into the story: John Ambrose McClaren. Usually, I have a very clear idea of who I want the protagonist to end up with because most of the time, there’s a clearly defined choice (the more caring, or the more sensitive, or the love interest embodies all of the protagonist’s ideals) and even though I was all the way Team Peter, my heart couldn’t help but do a little squeeze when John was there.

Because John is like the boyfriend you want to take home to introduce to parents. He’s a gentleman. He’s sweet. He’s adorably awkward. He reminds me, strangely, of Josh in the beginning of the first novel, before Josh turned jealous and judgemental.

Peter, on the other hand, is still very much a douchebag with occasional reminders of how nice he could be. It is the mark of a good writer if she can make somebody like Peter likeable because the breakup scene really tore at my heart.

Plot-wise, not much happened. It’s really just a slice from Lara Jean’s life where she volunteers at a retirement home, bakes at home and bemoans the fact that her boyfriend is still friends with his ex-girlfriend. Remember when I reviewed the first book I remarked on how I hated how immature her voice was? Has it matured in this book? In some ways, especially in her views about relationships but there were still moments where I could catch a glimpse of a 13 year old Lara Jean rather than a 16 year old.

I liked how Genevieve had more of a complex character dynamic in this book. While she is still bitchy, there is a reason behind it and why she hates Lara Jean is also explained which also added more depth to Lara Jean as well.

Although Margot has left and is not as present in the second book, the sister dynamic is still strong between the Song girls which was a nice thing to see though I wish that there was more of an emphasis on family. I also liked that Kitty showed some signs of maturation.

One of the things that took me out of the story too much were the random tidbits of sage advice that were dumped in there. It felt too much like it was there for convenience’s sake.

I liked how the book ended. It ended with a happy couple but it had bittersweet notes. As if this relationship would not last. It hinted at some character development on Lara Jean’s part: she’s not the naive lovesick girl anymore. It is a different spin from the happily-ever-after ending I expected from this sort of novel.


Rating: 3.5-4 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

  1. I was a bit ambivalent about To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before too Hilary, which is why I haven’t read this one yet. But your review makes me really curious. I think I may just give it a try after all. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

